Osteopathy

IMG_9370.JPG

Osteopathy is a manual therapy which aims to give each structure of the body its ideal freedom of movement. It therefore applies to all the systems that make up the animal's organism: the musculoskeletal system, the visceral sphere, or the nervous, circulatory and lymphatic systems, etc... 

This hollistic and global approach takes into account the interrelation of all the cells between them. It emphasizes the need for each cell to function properly in order to maintain or regain health. The manipulations carried out encourage the body's natural ability to heal itself.

The osteopath can restore the balance of the body in different ways, using several techniques (structural, tissular, fluidic, energetic, cranial, ...). Whatever the approach he chooses, the pactitioner seeks to offer the body a way of functioning without imposing it, without constraint, respecting the patient and listening to his tissues.

It is an approach of first intention, both preventive and curative, which is aimed at all animal species and all ages.

The osteopathy medicine has a very large toolbox

Several osteopathic currents have developed and have given rise to techniques that are sometimes very different. 

 

Depending on the reason for consultation and the symptoms the animal presents, the therapist will choose with you the most appropriate technique. At the practice, we have chosen to train ourselves more specifically in gentle techniques, which do not surprise the animal and which can act as much on its body as a structure, as on its mental body.

Structural Osteopathy

IMG_9864.JPG

Myo-fascial techniques are also part of structural osteopathy. The osteopath mobilizes bones and joints in a direction that relaxes muscles and frees blocked joint surfaces.

 

It is a gentle and progressive technique that does not surprise the animal. There is also the GOT (for Global Osteopathic Treatment) which consists of several rotations in a certain rhythm at the joints in order to improve their range of motion.

Among the different approaches, structural osteopathy is often the most well known by patients and pet owners.

Structural osteopathy focuses on the body's structure: bones, joints and muscles.

However, at OAK, we believe that it is not sufficient on its own and that it should generally be combined with other approaches, including visceral, cranio-sacral and somato-emotional, in order to sustain the effects of the treatment.

 

The leading technique in this register is the thrust, a rapid movement, directed by the osteopath, at a joint, sometimes accompanied by a characteristic articular noise (the "cracking").

 

For small animals such as dogs or cats, we have chosen not to use this technique in our practice.

Visceral Osteopathy

57467985_2293626907628623_33544654378101

Visceral osteopathy is one of our techniques of choice during consultations. Your animal will necessarily be checked for its organs and treated if necessary.

 

The osteopath listens and gently palpates the thoracic and abdominal cavities to feel the tensions in the organs and their attachments.

 

Indeed, the liver , the stomach , the lungs … all these structures are connected by ligament systems to the skeleton .

Thus, a dysfunctional vertebra can disturb the organs with which it has specific links and, conversely, an organ weakened in its movement or in its function can restrict the mobility of a vertebra to which it is connected.

 

The techniques used in visceral by our therapists are gentle and painless , the osteopath gradually “disentangles ” the tensions accumulated by the organ and in its vicinity. It ensures that the body has all the elements necessary to maintain homeostasis and good visceral functioning.

Cranial Osteopathy

and Cranio-sacral Treatment

IMG_9604.JPG

Cranial osteopathy is an approach to osteopathy that was developed in the early to mid 1900s by William Garner Sutherland.

Sutherland highlighted the infinitesimal movements of the bones of the skull and the circulation of cerebrospinal fluid (CSF), a theory already evoked in 1874 by Dr. Andrew Taylor Still, founder of Osteopathy.

 

This hypothesis is known as the Primary Respiratory Mechanism (PRM), and refers to a very small movement, perceptible by the osteopath from the skull to the sacrum, which extends by the fascias to the whole body.

 

The cranial approach is used for various disorders in babies and adults, and is transposable to the animal. We like to use it in particular in dysfunctions such as:

 

  • Digestive disorders

  • Respiratory disorders

  • Joint pain (neck, back, pelvis, jaw)

  • ENT disorders (ear infections, tinnitus...)

  • Neurological disorders (headshaking, epilepsy...)

  • Sleep Disorders

  • Anxiety

  • Hormonal regulation

The objective of the treatment is to rebalance the hydraulic forces of the cranio-sacral system and to free the skull from its mobility restrictions.

A global technique “par excellence”: the field of action of cranial and cranio-sacral osteopathy is very broad. At the practice, your animal is systematically controlled and treated if necessary, on the cranial and sacral spheres.

Fluidic Osteopathy

IMG_9547.JPG

It is a very gentle and painless technique, like all the techniques used in the practice.

It allows an energetic assessment of fluid disturbances.

 

The proposed corrections allow the body to regain its adaptability.

The PRM (Primary Respiratory Mechanism) described above is present throughout the body.

Its analysis makes it possible to establish the "fluidic" state of an organism.

 

It is an active listening process where the therapist asks questions to the body to be tested.

The movements of each part of the body, functional unit, bones, muscles, organs and viscera will be sought.

The correction will be in the accompaniment of one or more missing movements, with a very light pressure of about 5 grams ("like a butterfly landing on a flower", M-R Poyet).

 

One of the fluidic approaches practiced at OAK is called craniosacral reflexology. Halfway between an energetic and osteopathic practice, it allows an observation of the fluid disturbances of the organism. It removes the locks put in place by the body following physical, emotional or mental stress, in order to propose a new way of functioning.

Fasciatherapy

IMG_9783.JPG

To rebalance the animal's body, the osteopath frequently uses the fascias.

 

Fascias are flexible and very resistant connective tissue membranes containing collagen fibers, which are found everywhere in the body. They have a protective role and connect all structures together.

 

Fascias can be superficial (just under the skin), deep (enveloping each muscle individually and groups of muscles between them forming lodges), visceral (enveloping the organ itself and forming their means of suspension and attachment).

 

The fascias have different names depending on their location, but in fact they form a single tissue, like a large spider web that is lodged in every nook and cranny of the body.

These slightly contractile membranes constitute real lines of force allowing the body to stabilize itself, to put itself in balance, and to transmit the forces of the external mechanical tensions or emitted by the muscular movements from one part of the body to the other.

 

In addition, they contain sensitive nerve endings that give them a capacity for proprioception (informing the body about its position in space).

 

The osteopath, by palpating the fascias, or by mobilizing the organs to evaluate the quality of their attachments, will be able to determine the most important areas of tension, the compensation schemes put in place by the body, and thus free the restrictions of mobility by these fascias.

 

It is a technique that we use almost systematically in our practice, because it is gentle, progressive and produces great effects on the musculoskeletal system.

Tissular Osteopathy

IMG_9710.JPG

It is Pierre Tricot who is at the origin of this osteopathic approach.

 

Tissular osteopathy is a soft technique which assumes that the body is conscious "A living body, a conscious body", and that it is therefore necessary to communicate with it in order to approach it.

 

Tissues keep in memory the traces of shocks, trauma, or bad posture in the form of retention. The aim in tissular osteopathy is therefore to put the body system back in communication before any treatment begins, then to free the areas of restriction/retention by a fine palpation of the body and finally to finish by a global rebalancing of the body.

 

The practitioner uses his hands to tune in to each tissue in restriction of mobility to unroll cycles and release the retentions trapped inside according to the following parameters:

"Presence Attention Intention " " Density Tension Speed ".

At the practice, we use this technique in specific cases. It does not require any particular hand placement, so it is particularly indicated for fearful animals that fear contact, such as cats, for example. We also appreciate it in more complicated cases, when several pathologies coexist and it is necessary to bring comfort to the animal by taking great care of the vital systems. It is a very tissue-friendly technique.

Energetic Osteopathy

IMG_9477.JPG

Energetic osteopathy addresses the different energy flows that travel the surface of the body and form its "energy bubble".

 

It addresses the etheric body which corresponds to the energy circulating in the meridians according to the principles of Chinese medicine.

 

It is also addressed to the emotional body which, as its name indicates, contains the different emotions that can become engrained in the physical body and be the cause of certain imbalances.

 

Finally, it is addressed to the mental body, the seat of the thoughts of the individual, but also of his instinct, his habits.

 

At the practice, we use energetic osteopathy especially when the owner of the animal reports certain emotional disorders that result in agitation, anxiety, aggressiveness, depression...

With this approach, the osteopath searches for the organ or tissue that carries this emotional stress and frees the passage of energy. The techniques used for rebalancing are manual and are based on the notions of Traditional Chinese Medicine.

Tensegrity and Osteopathy

IMG_0348.JPG

Tensegrity represents the ability of a structure to stabilize itself through the interplay of forces and compressions. Very well known in architecture (Tacoma Bridge), it has recently been addressed in osteopathy and allows us to visualize soft tissues as a network of elastics that underlie the rigid tissues of the body.

 

In this way, we treat the body as a unit whose parts respond and resonate with each other, making the treatment more effective. Several techniques are derived from this approach, and we systematically use them on your pet during consultations.

 

Among them: the Medullary Traction Force. You know how much we love this technique, which allows us to effectively release tensions in the spinal cord.

Let's look at the vertebrae and the spinal cord like a pearl necklace, what happens when the wire is too short for a well defined number of pearls? The thread is stretched to the maximum. It is when this traction is excessive that disorders appear: accentuation of the curvatures of the spine, changes in the biomechanics of the animal, appearance of scoliosis or herniated disc.

 

Osteopathy can act on this MTF when it is abnormally high. A follow-up of growing animals is therefore strongly recommended, especially in breeds known to be at risk for weight-bearing defects or dysplasia.

L'Ostéopathie

L'ostéopathie est une médecine manuelle qui a pour objectif de rendre à chaque structure du corps sa liberté de mouvement idéale. Elle s’applique donc à tous les systèmes qui composent l’organisme de l’animal : l’appareil musculo-squelettique, la sphère viscérale, ou encore les systèmes nerveux, circulatoire et lymphatique,… 

Elle est ainsi une approche hollistique, c’est à dire globale, qui tient compte de l’interrelation de toutes les cellules entre elles. Elle met en avant la nécessité du bon fonctionnement de chacune d’elle pour maintenir ou retrouver la santé. Les manipulations réalisées encouragent la capacité naturelle de l'organisme à s'auto-guérir.

L’ostéopathe peut rétablir l’équilibre du corps de différentes façons, il dispose de plusieurs techniques (structurelles, tissulaires, fluidiques, énergétiques, crâniennes,…). Quelle que soit la voie d’abord qu’il choisit, il cherche à proposer au corps un mode de fonctionnement sans l’imposer, sans contrainte, dans le respect du patient et à l’écoute de ses tissus.

C’est une approche de première intention, aussi bien préventive que curative, qui s’adresse à toutes les espèces animales et à tous les âges.

L’ostéopathie est une médecine qui dispose d’une grande boîte à outils.

Plusieurs courants ostéopathiques se sont développés et ont donné naissance à des techniques parfois très différentes.

 

Selon le motif de consultation et les symptômes que présente l’animal, le thérapeute choisira avec vous la technique la plus appropriée. Au cabinet, nous avons choisi de nous former plus spécifiquement aux techniques douces, qui ne surprennent pas l’animal et qui peuvent agir autant sur son corps en tant que structure, que sur son corps mental.

Ostéopathie Structurelle

Les techniques myo-fasciales relèvent aussi de l’ostéopathie structurelle. L’ostéopathe mobilise les os et articulations selon une direction qui permet de relâcher les muscles et de libérer les surfaces articulaires bloquées.

C’est une technique douce et progressive qui ne surprend pas l’animal. Il existe aussi le TOG (pour Traitement Ostéopathique Global) qui consiste en plusieurs rotations dans un certain rythme au niveau des articulations afin d’en améliorer l’amplitude de mouvement.

Parmi les différentes approches, l’ostéopathie structurelle est souvent la plus connue par les patients et les propriétaires d’animaux.

Elle est primordiale en effet car elle s’intéresse à la charpente corporelle : les os, les articulations et les muscles.

Cependant, au cabinet OAK, nous sommes persuadés qu’elle ne se suffit pas à elle seule et qu’elle doit être généralement associée aux autres approches, notamment viscérale, crânio-sacrée et somato-émotionnelle, afin de pérenniser les effets du traitement.

 

La technique phare dans ce registre est le thrust, un mouvement rapide, dirigé par l’ostéopathe, au niveau d’une articulation, parfois accompagné d’un bruit articulaire caractéristique (le « cracking »).

 

Sur les petits animaux comme les chiens ou les chats, au cabinet, nous avons fait le choix de ne pas utiliser cette technique

Ostéopathie Viscérale

L’ostéopathie viscérale fait partie de nos techniques de choix lors des consultations. Votre animal sera forcément contrôlé au niveau de ses organes et traité si cela s’avérait nécessaire.

 

L’ostéopathe effectue une écoute et une palpation légère des cavités thoraciques et abdominales pour sentir les tensions au niveau des organes et de leurs attaches.

 

En effet, le foie, l’estomac, les poumons… toutes ces structures sont reliés par des systèmes ligamentaires au squelette.

Ainsi, une vertèbre en dysfonction peut venir perturber les organes avec qui elle possède des liens spécifiques et, inversement, un organe affaibli dans son mouvement ou dans sa fonction peut restreindre la mobilité d’une vertèbre à laquelle il est relié.

 

Les techniques utilisées en viscéral par nos thérapeutes sont douces et indolores, l’ostéopathe « démêle » progressivement les tensions accumulées par l’organe et dans son voisinage. Il veille à ce que le corps dispose de tous les éléments nécessaires au maintien de l’homéostasie et au bon fonctionnement viscéral.

Ostéopathie Crânienne

et Crânio-Sacrée

L'ostéopathie crânienne est une approche de l'ostéopathie qui a été développée entre le début et le milieu des années 1900 par William Garner Sutherland.

Ce dernier a mis en évidence les mouvements infimes des os du crâne et la circulation du liquide céphalo-rachidien (LCR), théorie déjà évoquée par le Dr Andrew Taylor Still, fondateur de l’Ostéopathie, en 1874.

Cette hypothèse est connue sous le nom de Mécanisme Respiratoire Primaire (MRP), et fait allusion à un mouvement infime, perceptible par l’ostéopathe du crâne au sacrum, qui s’étend via les fascias à l’ensemble du corps.

 

L'approche crânienne est employée pour différents troubles chez le bébé comme l'adulte, et est transposable à l’animal, nous l’apprécions notamment dans les dysfonctions telles que :

• Les troubles digestifs

• Les troubles respiratoires

• Les douleurs articulaires (cou, dos, bassin, mâchoire)

• Les troubles ORL (otites, acouphènes...)

• Les troubles neurologiques (headshaking, épilepsie…)

• Troubles du sommeil

Anxiété

• Régulation hormonale

Le traitement a pour objectif de rééquilibrer les forces hydrauliques du système crânio-sacré et de libérer le crâne de ses restrictions de mobilité.

Technique globale par excellence, le champ d’action des ostéopathies crânienne et crânio-sacrée est très large. Au cabinet, votre animal est systématiquement contrôlé et traité au besoin sur les sphères crânienne et sacrées.

Ostéopathie Fluidique

C’est une technique très douce et non douloureuse, comme toutes les techniques utilisées au cabinet.

Elle permet de poser un constat énergétique de perturbations fluidiques.

 

Les corrections proposées permettent au corps de retrouver ses capacités d’adaptabilité.

Le MRP (Mouvement Respiratoire Primaire) décrit précédemment est présent dans tout le corps.

Son analyse permet d’établir le constat « fluidique » d’un organisme.

 

Il s’agit d’une écoute active où le thérapeute pose des questions au corps à tester.

On y recherchera les mouvements de chaque partie du corps, unité fonctionnelle, os, muscles, organes et viscères.

 

La rectification sera dans l’accompagnement d’un ou des mouvements manquants, avec une pression très légère, d’environ 5 grammes (« tel un papillon se posant sur une fleur » , M-R Poyet).

 

Une des approches fluidiques pratiquées au cabinet s’appelle la réflexologie crânio-sacrée. A mi-chemin entre une pratique énergétique et ostéopathique, elle permet un constat des perturbations fluidiques de l’organisme. Elle lève les verrous mis en place par le corps suite à un stress physique, émotionnel ou mental, afin de lui proposer un nouveau mode de fonctionnement.

Fasciathérapie

Pour rééquilibrer le corps de l’animal, l’ostéopathe utilise fréquemment les fascias.

 

Les fascias sont des membranes de tissus conjonctif flexible et très résistantes contenant des fibres de collagène, qui se trouvent partout dans le corps. Ils ont un rôle de protection et relient toutes les structures entre elles.

 

Les fascias peuvent être superficiels (juste sous la peau), profonds (enveloppent chaque muscle individuellement et des groupes de muscles entre eux formant des loges), viscéraux (enveloppent l’organe lui-même et constituent leur moyen de suspension et d’attaches).

 

Les fascias ont des noms différents selon leur localisation, mais ne forment en fait qu’un seul et même tissu, a l’image d’une grande toile d’araignée qui irait se loger dans tous les coins et recoins du corps.

 

Ces membranes, légèrement contractiles, constituent de véritables lignes de force permettant au corps de se stabiliser, se mettre en équilibre, de transmettre les forces des tensions mécaniques externes ou émises par les mouvements musculaires d’une partie à l’autre du corps.

 

De plus, ils contiennent des terminaisons nerveuses sensitives leur conférant une capacité de proprioception (renseigne le corps sur sa position dans l’espace).

 

L’ostéopathe, en palpant les fascias, ou en mobilisant les organes pour évaluer la qualité de leurs attaches, va pouvoir déterminer les zones de tensions les plus importantes, les schémas de compensation mis en place par le corps, et ainsi libérer les restrictions de mobilité de part ces fascias.

 

C’est une technique que nous utilisons quasiment de façon systématique au cabinet, car elle est douce, progressive et produit de grands effets sur le système musculo-squelettique.

Ostéopathie Tissulaire

C’est Pierre Tricot qui est à l’origine de cette approche ostéopathique.

L’ostéopathie tissulaire est une technique d’ostéopathie douce qui part du principe que le corps est conscient « A corps vivant, corps conscient », et qu’il faut donc communiquer avec lui pour l’aborder.

 

Les tissus gardent en mémoire les traces de chocs, traumatisme, mauvaise posture sous forme de rétention, le but en ostéopathie tissulaire est donc de remettre le système corporel en communication avant tout début de soin, puis de libérer les zones de restriction/rétention par une palpation fine du corps et enfin de terminer par une remise en équilibre globale du corps.

 

Le praticien se syntonise avec ses mains à chaque tissu en restriction de mobilité pour en dérouler des cycles et libérer les rétentions piégées dedans selon les paramètres suivants :

« Présence Attention Intention » « Densité Tension Vitesse ».

 

Au cabinet, nous utilisons cette technique dans des cas précis. Elle ne nécessite pas de placements de main particuliers, alors elle est particulièrement indiquée chez les animaux peureux, qui craignent le contact, chez les chats par exemple. Nous l’apprécions aussi dans les cas plus compliqués, lorsque plusieurs pathologies coexistent et qu’il faut apporter du confort à l’animal en prenant grand soin des systèmes vitaux. C’est une technique très respectueuse des tissus.

Ostéopathie Énergétique

L’ostéopathie énergétique s’adresse aux différents courants d’énergie qui parcourent la surface du corps et forment sa « bulle énergétique ».

 

Elle s’adresse au corps éthérique qui correspond à l’énergie circulante dans les méridiens selon les principes de la médecine chinoise.

 

Elle s’adresse également au corps émotionnel qui comme son nom l’indique, contient les différentes émotions qui peuvent s’engrammer dans le corps physique et être à l’origine de certains déséquilibres.

 

Enfin, elle s’adresse au corps mental, siège des pensées de l’individu, mais aussi de son instinct, de ses habitudes.

 

Au cabinet, nous utilisons l’ostéopathie énergétique particulièrement lorsque le propriétaire de l’animal nous rapporte certains troubles émotionnels qui se traduisent par des comportements d’agitation, d’inquiétude, d’agressivité, de dépression

Par cette approche, l’ostéopathe recherche l’organe ou le tissu qui porte ce stress émotionnel et libère le passage de l’énergie. Les techniques utilisées pour les rééquilibrages sont manuelles et s’appuient sur les notions de Médecine Traditionnelle Chinoise.

Ostéopathie Tenségritive

La Tenségrité représente la faculté d’une structure à se stabiliser par des jeux de forces et de compressions. Très connue en architecture (Pont de Tacoma), elle est depuis peu abordée en ostéopathie et nous permet de visualiser les tissus mous comme un réseau d’élastiques qui sous-tendent les tissus rigides du corps.

 

Nous traitons ainsi le corps comme une unité dont les parties se répondent et entrent en résonnance, le traitement gagne alors en efficacité. Plusieurs techniques découlent de cette approche tenségritive, et nous les utilisons systématiquement sur votre animal lors des consultations.

 

Parmi elles : la Force de Traction Médullaire : vous savez combien nous aimons cette technique, qui nous permet de libérer efficacement les tensions au niveau de la moelle épinière.

Voyons les vertèbres et la moelle épinière comme un collier de perle, que se passe-t-il lorsque le fil est trop court pour un nombre de perles bien défini ? Le fil se tend au maximum. C’est lorsque cette traction est excessive que les troubles apparaissent : accentuation des courbures de la colonne vertébrale, modification de la biomécanique de l’animal, apparition de scoliose ou hernie discale.

 

L’ostéopathie permet d’agir sur cette FTM lorsqu’elle est anormalement élevée. Un suivi des animaux en croissance est donc fortement recommandé, et plus particulièrement dans les races dites à risques pour les défauts d’aplombs ou les dysplasies.

Secrétariat au 

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Blanc Icône Instagram

32 route de Pont Audemer 
Espace René Poulingue 

27260 Epaignes